Hidebound.


In the East the symbol of wisdom.

As earthlings we tend to be hidebound – confined by our physical state; some more than others.
Have you liberated yourself?
Do you want to?

NOTE: Below are two meanings of hidebound which are pertinent here.

World English Dictionary
hidebound  (ˈhaɪdˌbaʊnd)
— adj
1. restricted by petty rules, a conservative attitude, etc.
3. (of trees) having a very tight bark that impairs growth.

About Ian Gardner

Ian Gardner was born on the 20th February 1934 in Sri Lanka, then Ceylon, and christened Basil Ian Gunewardene. He was born two months prematurely and nearly died five times in his first two months. He moved to Australia in September 1969 where he changed his surname to Gardner. From childhood he had an enquiring mind and an innate interest in the supernatural. Since 1986, nineteen years of meditation, "searching within", reading and revelations have culminated in this free book which has been nine years in the making. Further writings followed and all his writings are available to all on the Internet free of charge. There is more information in the preface of the book.
This entry was posted in the purpose of life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hidebound.

  1. bert says:

    I noticed something like 6 weeks ago that i’m a lot more fearful to lose what i have when trying new things in life. When i was 25, i had nothing, and traveled around the world, and more or less did what i wanted. But as soon as i had property this changed. Having a business since 1996 made things even worse. Now i have a wife and 2 kids to care for, restricting myself even further.

    It sounds bad to say this, but my family is my greatest restriction, business and property are restricting me equally. This is the restriction you mention as the bark of a tree,

    Being stuck in my current (march 2012) tracks, i decided to take a new turn in life and turn my now more or less dead business into something completely different and not yet seen in my country. I have no idea whether i will even get customers, but the pioneering spirit from when i was 25 is back a little. I have no income since the beginning of april, but i booked a flight to india somewhere in the coming fall, with my youngest (5). We are also reorganising the house we live in. I’ve thrown away a lot of books. I would not have considered throwing away a book 2 years ago. So for this moment, the restrictive bark around the tree is bursting.

    definition1: restricted by petty rules, a conservative attitude, etc.
    I think most people don’t see me as conservative since i have a lot of unconservative opinions on all kinds of things in life and society. However, keeping your own opinions unchanged, even when they are un-conservative, makes you a conservative. Seeing things in this light makes me a conservative. (In this context i like your ‘quo vadis files’ more than your ‘milk is white’,
    since the first is an ever changing or morphing work of ‘menting’, while the latter has been more or less unchanged for a longer perion of time.)

    Thank you for giving me the opportunity to write 🙂

    • Ian Gardner says:

      And a good effort too; even, perhaps, cathartic! In any event helpful I am sure.
      LIfe, as we have structured it, has phases and all of these serve their purpose with their challenges and choices, conscious and unconscious. It is the learning process within which the discerning spirit will be aware of what it is going through and learn from it and, from what you write it seems to me that your ship of life is sailing well. As I have said elsewhere, on the ocean of life keep your hand firmly on the tiller with the bow pointing North and the winds and currents will do the rest as needed.
      As for “conservative”, one of its meanings is being unwilling to change or disliking change – a trait that is commonplace until wisdom starts to break through.
      Please don’t thank me – I am simply a means to an end. I simply present what I know to be and leave the rest to the reader 🙂

Well, what do you say?

